SFF 2012: Sydney Film Festival Awards Winners

The Maker - SFF Winner

SFF 2012 LogoIn addition to the 2012 SFF Official Competition winner revealed earlier today – Greek drama Alps, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos and starring Aggeliki Papoulia, Aris Servetalis and Johnny Vekis, SFF tonight announced the winners of the 2012 FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize, the 2012 Dendy Awards for Australian Short Filmsand the 2012 Yoram Gross Animation Award at the Closing Night Gala, which also screened Safety Not Guaranteed.

Press release:

FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize

The 2012 SFF FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize, now in its fourth year, awards a generous cash prize of $10,000. Out of a shortlist of eight finalists, the prize was awarded to Killing Anna, directed and produced by Paul Gallasch. The film is a documentary about Paul’s unusual method of dealing with a relationship break-up: he gives in to the fantasy that it would be easier for his ex-girlfriend, Anna, to die than for him to deal with her abandonment of their relationship – so he decides to hold a funeral service, as if her death was real, and to film the process.

Killing Anna has an impact out of proportion to its length. With an impressive economy of means, the director has crafted a film of great emotional resonance – distinctive, funny, and full of character. The filmmaker courageously exposes his own emotional journey to deliver a universal message about romantic loss.” – FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize jury

The FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize jury for 2012 comprised Australian producer Helen Bowden, New Zealand writer/director Costa Botes and Jim Buchan, General Manager Factual Acquisitions and Group Channel Manager FCG Factual Channels, FOXTEL.

Sydney Film Festival’s Australian short film awards were first presented in 1970 and the Festival has been showcasing the best local short film productions in competition ever since. These celebrated awards have launched and aided the careers of many Australian filmmakers.

Dendy’s Live Action Short Award

The Dendy’s Live Action Short Award, sponsored by Dendy Cinemas since 1989, provides a $5,000 cash prize to the best Australian live action short film. Winners are Academy Award®-eligible.

“The standard of finalists is higher than any other year I can remember,” said Mark Gooder, CEO of Dendy ICON. “There is real diversity and accomplishment evident in these short films that bodes very favourably for the future of our industry.”

The 2012 winner of the Dendy Award for Best Live Action Short is Yardbird, directed by Michael Spiccia and produced by Jessica Mitchell. This film features a young girl living in a remote wrecking yard, who takes on the local bullies when they turn up and torment her father.

“An exceptional film, both in content and form, Yardbird is underpinned by a striking central performance.” — 2012 Dendy Awards judges.

Rouben Mamoulian Award

The Rouben Mamoulian Award, also sponsored by Dendy Cinemas, and named after the Hollywood director who first presented the award in 1974, provides a $5,000 cash prize to the best Australian short film director.

The 2012 winner of the Rouben Mamoulian Award is Mirrah Foulkes, writer and director of Dumpy Goes to the Big Smoke.

Dumpy Goes to the Big Smoke shows a director with an original, assured and delicate touch.” — 2012 Dendy Awards judges.

Yoram Gross Animation Award

The Yoram Gross Animation Award, sponsored by Yoram and Sandra Gross, provides a $4,000 cash prize for the Best Australian Animated Short film. Winners are Academy Award®-eligible.

“Continuing the long tradition from which he befitted so much in the early days of his career, Yoram is happy to present the Yoram Gross Animation Award to assist as well as encourage young animation filmmakers,” said Sandra Gross today.

The 2012 winner is The Maker, written and directed by Christopher Kezelos, and produced by Christine and Christopher Kezelos. In this extraordinary animation, a strange creature races against time to make the most important and beautiful creation of its life.

The Maker delivered a concept and world with astonishing effect, which resonates long after viewing.” — 2012 Dendy Awards judges.

The 2012 Dendy Awards were judged by Egyptian/Welsh screenwriter and director Sally El Hosaini (My Brother The Devil), Australian producer David Jowsey and Warp Films Australia producer Anna McLeish.

The results of the 2012 SHOWTIME Audience Awards will be announced Tuesday 19 June.