‘The Flash’ loses director Seth Grahame-Smith

Seth Grahame-Smith and The Flash (Ezra Miller in Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice)

THR is reporting that director Seth Grahame-Smith has departed upcoming film THE FLASH due to “creative differences.” It seems that the DC Expanded Universe is following the Marvel Cinematic Universe in more ways than one.

The director, who is known for the novel Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, was working off his own script, adapted from the Phil Lord and Christopher Miller (The LEGO Movie) screenplay. Warner is reportedly retaining this version of the screenplay.

THE FLASH will star Ezra Miller as Barry Allen/The Flash, who cameoed in this year’s Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice. It is due to be released on 16 March 2018, following Suicide Squad (2016), Wonder Woman (2017) and Justice League Part One (2017).

Grahame-Smith is not the first Warner director to leave a DC project, with Michelle McLaren previously leaving Wonder Woman for similar stated reasons, to be replaced with Patty Jenkins, who in turn had left Marvel’s Thor: The Dark World for the same reasons.