Cannes 2017: ‘The Square’ takes Palme d’Or, plus full winners list

Ruben Östlund's THE SQUARE

In a another year of Cannes that was beset by minor controversies and warring mediums, the festival jury has selected Ruben Östlund’s THE SQUARE as the winner of the Palme d’Or out of the 15 films in competition.

Unsurprisingly, Sofia Coppola was awarded the Best Director prize for THE BEGUILED, a reworking of the western of the same name. Her star Nicole Kidman, who appeared in no less than 3 films that this year’s festival, was awarded the 70th Anniversary Prize. 

Yorgos Lanthimos, who enchanted international audiences with The Lobster, has won the Best Screenplay award for THE KILLING OF A SACRED DEER.

A full list of winners can be see below, including the Un Certain Regard winners, of which Mohammad Rasoulof’s A MAN OF INTEGRRITY took top honours.

Caméra d’Or (best first feature)
Jeune Femme (Montparnasse-Bienvenüe) (director: Léonor Serraille)

Best short film
A Gentle Night (director: Qiu Yang)

Best screenplay
The Killing of a Sacred Deer (director: Yorgos Lanthimos); You Were Never Really Here (director: Lynne Ramsay)

Jury prize
Loveless (dir: Andrei Zvyagintsev)

Best actress
Diane Kruger, In the Fade (director: Fatih Akin)

Best actor
Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best director
Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Grand Prix
120 Beats per Minute, Robin Campillo

70th Anniversary prize
Nicole Kidman

Palme d’Or
The Square (director: Ruben Östlund)

Previously announced were the winners for the Un Certain Regard section of the festival. Iranian filmmaker Mohammad Rasoulof’s A MAN OF INTEGRRITY won the top prize. Michel Franco’s APRIL’S DAUGHTER won the Jury prize, while Mathieu Amalric’s BARBARA won the beautifully titled Prize for the Best Poetic Narrative. Jasmine Trinca walked away with Best Actress for her performance in Sergio Castellitto’s FORTUNATA, while and Taylor Sheridan won Best Director for WIND RIVER.