73rd Venice International Film Festival - The Woman Who Left, La La Land, Nocturnal Animals

Venice Film Festival 2016 Winners

The prestigious 73rd Venice International Film Festival came to a close after showcasing a major selection of new films, announcing their annual list of award winners in the process. Lav Diaz’s THE WOMAN WHO LEFT took the top prize In Competition of the Golden Lion, while Tom Ford’s NOCTURNAL ANIMALS was awarded the second place Grand Jury Prize.

Sam Mendes was the President of the Jury for the main competition. Volpi Cup awards also went to Emma Stone for Best Actress in LA LA LAND and Oscar Martínez for THE DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN, while the Silver Lion for Best Director was tied between Amat Escalante for THE UNTAMED and Andrei Konchalovsky for PARADIESE.

The complete list of winners can be found below. We’re truly in awards season now!

Official Selection

In Competition

Golden Lion: THE WOMAN WHO LEFT by Lav Diaz

Grand Jury Prize: NOCTURNAL ANIMALS by Tom Ford

Silver Lion for Best Director

  • Amat Escalante for THE UNTAMED
  • Andrei Konchalovsky for PARADIESE

Volpi Cup

  • Best Actor: Oscar Martínez forTHE DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN
  • Best Actress: Emma Stone for LA LA LAND

Best Screenplay Award: Noah Oppenheim for JACKIE

Special Jury Prize: THE BAD BATCH by Ana Lily Amirpour

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor: Paula Beer for FRANTZ

Horizons (Orizzonti)

 Best Film: RELEASE ME by Federica Di Giacomo

Best Director: HOME by Fien Troch

Special Jury Prize: BIG BIG WORLD by Reha Erdem

Best Actress: Ruth Díaz for THE FURY OF A PATIENT MAN

Best Actor: Nuno Lopes for SAINT GEORGE

Best Screenplay: BITTER MONEY by Wang Bing

Best Short: LA VOZ PERDIDA by Marcello Martinessi

Lion of the Future

Luigi De Laurentiis Award for Best Debut Film: THE LAST OF US by Ala Eddine Slim

Venezia Classici Awards

Best Documentary on Cinema: THE GRADUATION by Claire Simon

Best Restored Film: BREAK UP, THE MAN WITH THE BALOONS by Marco Ferreri

Special Awards

Golden Lion For Lifetime Achievement: Jean-Paul Belmondo and Jerzy Skolimowski

Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award: Amir Naderi

Persol Tribute To Visionary Talent Award: Liev Schreiber