Venice 2017: ‘The Shape of Water’, ‘Sweet Country’ take top prizes

Venice 2017: Guillermo del Toro

Guillermo Del Toro’s THE SHAPE OF WATER has been awarded the Golden Lion at the 74th Venice International Film Festival. The festival jury, led by Annette Benning, also gave Warwick Thornton’s Australian outback SWEET COUNTRY the Special Jury Prize.

Samuel Moaz, who won the Golden Lion in 2009 for Lebanon, was awarded the Silver Lion for FOXTROT, a film about an Israeli family grieving over their soldier son.

Silver Lion, Best Director went to Xavier Legrand for JUSQU’À LA GARDE, which also won the Lion of the Future “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film. The highly anticipated THREE BILLBOARDS OUTSIDE EBBING, MISSOURI won Best Screenplay for Martin McDonagh.

While not winning awards, critics were raving about Koreeda Hirokazu’s courtroom drama The Third Murder, and the musical Ammore e Malavita, from the Manetti Brothers.

The full list of winners is below (via Deadline).

Golden Lion
The Shape Of Water, director: Guillermo del Toro

Grand Jury Prize
Foxtrot, Samuel Maoz

Silver Lion, Best Director
Xavier Legrand, Jusqu’à La Garde

Volpi Cup, Best Actress
Charlotte Rampling, Hannah

Volpi Cup, Best Actor
Kamel El Basha, The Insult

Best Screenplay
Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Special Jury Prize
Sweet Country, director: Warwick Thornton

Marcello Mastroianni Award for for Best New Young Actor or Actress
Charlie Plummer, Lean On Pete

Best Film
Nico, 1988, dir: Susanna Nicchiarelli

Best Director
Vahid Jalilvand, No Date, No Signature

Special Jury Prize
Caniba, dirs: Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Verena Paravel

Best Actress
Lyna Khoudri, Les Bienheureux

Best Actor
Navid Mohammadzadeh, No Date, No Signature

Best Screenplay
Los Versos Del Olvido, director: Alireza Khatami

Best Short Film
Gros Chagrin, director: Céline Devaux

Lion of the Future – “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film
Jusqu’à La Garde, director: Xavier Legrand

Best Restoration
Idi I Smotri, director: Elem Klimov

Best Documentary on Cinema
The Prince And The Dybbuk, directors: Elwira Niewiera, Piotr Rosolowski

Best VR
Arden’s Wake (Expanded), director: Eugene YK Chung

Best VR Experience
La Camera Insabbiata, directors: Laurie Anderson, Hsin-Chien Huang

Best VR Story
Bloodless, director: Gina Kim